September Update

This semester has gotten off to a rocky start. Professors, caring little about adjusting to the new school year, dove headfirst into course content with 100’s of pages of reading the second week of school. What a huge wake-up call that Junior Year was Here. Beyond the heavy workload I had destined myself for, I was really happy to be getting back to a normal routine. Back to spending hours at the library, and eating horrible cafeteria food, and being within walking distance of almost all of my friends.

 

I really wanted this semester to go off without a hitch. Without nights of stress or crying. But, life happens, and you just have to roll with it.

This past week was the worst week of my life. It felt unfair to have such a bad week at the very beginning of the semester, and it’s made me behind in my classes already. But, today is Monday, and I’m just going to pretend that last week didn’t happen at all.

 

Ignoring the bad things, here are the good things about today:

  • Apple cider is back at our campus coffee shop (hello, fall)
  • It’s not raining (yet)
  • Wearing a pink skirt makes me happy

 

Even though these things are so simple (and a little materialistic), sometimes they are the only things you can count on.

My car may be totaled, but at least I can still get my daily coffee. The enjoyment of simple things is necessary to outweigh the complex terrible ones.

 

No matter what else is going on, you have to be adaptable. This is something I’ve struggled with a lot of my life. I don’t like change (that much), and if something changes not according to my plan, I get very angry. When an entire week goes not according to plan, I get VERY upset. Even when everything else seems like it’s changing, I know these things will stay true: my friends will be there for me, and if they are busy, I’ll always have a chocolate croissant to comfort me.

FullSizeRender (1)

One thought on “September Update

Leave a Reply

