New Year’s Eve

Happy New Year’s Eve!

 

The last few days/weeks/months of 2014 have gone by so quickly. There are so many things I wish I had accomplished. Things I wish I had time or energy to complete. So many more blog posts I wish I had written. But alas. We all wish we had done things differently now that they’re over, but there’s no use in regretting what you didn’t accomplish.

 

I don’t like making resolutions. “New Year Resolutions” seem very cheesy to me, and most people always break them before February is over. I mean, they can range from “I won’t eat as much chocolate” to “I will have more respect for people who have different opinions than me,” but people break both just as easily. And, the majority of the population only make resolutions for the New Year. I love new beginnings (see this previous post), but this isn’t the only time you can resolve to better yourself. At any point during the year, it is never too late to change your behavior.

 

So for this new year, I resolve to not stop making resolutions, whenever I find something about myself that I don’t like. (And I’m not talking about body image here, really this is more about personality/actions/integrity.)

 

I don’t make New Year Resolutions, but if I did, they would be:

 

I resolve to stick to my guts. I resolve to not be afraid of being afraid, but to also not let it keep me from doing something. I resolve to journal more, write everything down so as not to forget it. Lessons learned during this decade I just entered are going to be some of the most important of my life. I resolve to trust and forgive people more than I usually do, and to know that it’s okay to take a break sometimes. I resolve to make myself a better person day by day, because we each live day by day.

 

I hope each of you have a Happy New Year (and to stay safe tonight!!)

 

Thank you for reading during 2014, and don’t stop as we venture into 2015!

new year's eve

Leave a Reply

