It’s Christmas

Merry Christmas!!!!

I’m writing this Christmas post so late in the day, but the clock has not yet turned to midnight, so it still counts. I hope you’ve had a wonderful day filled with too much food and too much fun. 

Now, I’m going to be honest with you. I’m not the merriest of people during the holidays. I don’t love Christmas. I love what it stands for and represents, and how it makes people feel, but I’m not attached to it. My family doesn’t have many traditions, and our Christmas decorations get smaller every year. But that doesn’t mean I’m not affected by Christmas. I still rejoice in the birth of Jesus Christ, which is ultimately what Christmas is all about. I love to see hope filling kids and adults alike, as the month of December is the most positive spirited month of all.

One hundred years ago, though, it might not have been seen as the same.

I stumbled upon this  guide about the myth of the Christmas truce of 1914. If your history skills are lacking, the year 1914 found us in the middle of World War I. Reportedly, on Christmas there was an unspoken truce between both sides as they stopped fighting, sang carols, and exchanged presents. (Hint: click the link and read the guide. It’s extremely humbling to hear firsthand accounts of these soldiers.) If this doesn’t put into perspective what Christmas is all about, then I don’t know what else can.

I don’t love Christmas in the traditional sense. I don’t love traditions, or hanging out with my family all day, or exchanging presents. I love the feelings of hope, love, joy, and peace associated with Christmas.

So take a moment, and be thankful that Christmas exists as a day to remind us of something bigger than ourselves.

Happy Holidays!

Who can't resist a cat in a santa hat??

Who can’t resist a cat in a santa hat??

Leave a Reply

