End of the Semester Reflections

Wow…where did this week go? Where did this semester go? Yesterday was the last day of classes, which should have been a joyous occasion. I, however, still had an assignment due at midnight, so I wasn’t as free to enjoy the release from classes as much as possible. Finals are upon us here at college, and everyone is super stressed out. The library switches over to being open 24 hours during finals, so I don’t anticipate leaving from here anytime soon (writing this blog is my study break currently).

At the end of every semester, I always end up reflecting on the things I did, what I wish I had done differently, how I could have been a better student, friend, or mentor..whether I want to think about such things or not. (I can’t help it, nostalgia is in my blood.)

Things I wish I had done differently:

    1. Gone to more club meetings. Allocating time efficiently is the most important skill you will learn at college. There will always be more things you want to do than what you have time for. I wish I had kept up attendance at church and Intervarsity, because my faith will always be important to me…but sometimes I let the need for a higher GPA get in the way of that.
    2. Paid more attention (in Macroeconomics). This class is hard…and the lectures were boring, but if we’re being honest here, that is one thing I wish I could redo if we started the semester over again. Hindsight is 20/20, right? But seriously, it’s so easy to go through the motions in college, and not be aware of the changing world around you. Keeping your eyes (and mind) open to everything that’s happening will make you a better citizen and allows you to educate someone else on some issue that is very prevalent in the world today.
    3. Taken leadership. There were some instances where I could have stepped up and taken charge, but I remained in the background, hoping that someone else would do it. I wish I had drawn up my confidence, put on my big girl panties, and taken that chance- but I didn’t. And I regretted it. This is going to be one of my goals for next semester- to be a stronger leader, even if the path looks uncertain and scary.

 

Things I’m proud to have accomplished:

    1. Joined a new club. I joined the International Relations Club this semester, and I could not be more excited. I discovered a new love for Model UN (those conferences are so  challenging and fun that I think I will be addicted to them for life), and this was a huge step out of my comfort zone- one that I’m so glad I took.
    2. Made new friends. I don’t like talking to new people. It’s scary. You don’t know if they’ll like you or not. It’s easy to be awkward in social situations. More often than not, I’ve been in a place where I didn’t know anyone, and sat awkwardly with eyes fixed on my phone, hoping that no one will talk to me while secretly hoping that I would be able to make a friend, somehow, through this telepathic communication I dreamed of. But, this semester I’ve worked on that personal skill of reaching out and making a new friend. And it has paid off in extraordinary amounts.
    3. Spent an entire day not doing homework. I’m one of those people who always has that itch to study- anytime, anywhere. This semester I spent one Saturday not studying at all. I didn’t open a textbook, I didn’t edit a paper, I didn’t think about the assignments I had to do the next day. It was so relieving and I’m so glad I spent that time to recharge myself. I need to remember to do this more often.

 

I have now (almost) finished 3 out of 8 semesters here at college. Only 5 remain, and I’m constantly afraid I’m wasting precious time. All I need to remember is that almost everything you do in college is preparing you for the future. Whether it’s studying, making new friends, gaining personal development skills- everything will pay off in the end, so you can’t really waste time. I’m content with what I did this semester, even if I do have regrets. The benefits greatly outweigh the costs. Therefore, it has been a positive experience (a little econ humor there..)

If you are like me and just finished classes and finals are looming nearer and nearer, congratulations and good luck! No matter what grade you get, at the  end of the day if you’re happy, that’s all that matters.

Now I’m off to study more. And more. And more. But, I’m happy with that. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

