“I quite like the rain…”

It’s a (very) rainy day here at college. Our college was built on a swamp, so when it rains, it pours. When it pours, it puddles, and it puddles a lot. (Yes I am using ‘puddle’ as a verb. You understand what I mean now. Okay.)

One of the most important items all upperclassmen told me to bring to school was: rainboots. They are oh so necessary here, because walking across campus in a constant downpour is less than ideal, especially with water-soluble shoes.

I enjoy the rain. But I don’t like getting wet. Well no, I like getting wet, I just don’t like coming inside being wet. I think about Singing in the Rain a lot when I’m walking in the rain, thinking how easy it would be to sing and dance without a care of how wet you’re getting. But then I realize, I have to go inside and see real people, and that vision dissipates (unlike the water from my clothes).

 

 i quite like the rain

I don’t know exactly where this is from, but I found this image on Pinterest one time and I fell in love with it immediately. It’s such a simple five word phrase, yet its quaintness and simplicity remark on the beauty of rain..but maybe that’s just the English major in me.

 

Pinterest has TONS of images with quotes about rain on them.

 

maybe rain2

besides rain

puddles rain

langston hughes rain

I just love them! Rain is used as a symbol for overcoming obstacles a lot- we know that it’s raining, but we also know that there will be a time (in the near future, most likely, unless you’re Noah..) where it won’t be raining anymore. Now apply it to your life. Are you going through a hard time/rough patch? It’s okay to see it as rain. But that doesn’t mean you can’t rejoice in the rain, for you will get out of it, no matter what.

This week is Mental Health Awareness Week for my school, so we’ve been having programs each day about how to stay mentally healthy. If you’re struggling with anything, go read some rain quotes.

It’s just a little rain, and soon the sun will come.

 

One thought on ““I quite like the rain…”

Leave a Reply

