Inspiration for the Week

Happy Hump Day! The week is halfway over, which can be cause for celebration or anxiety.
However!
One of my original ideas with this blog was to highlight fun things I found on the internet- things that make me laugh, cry, or think about humanity more. I’m going to try to make this a weekly thing- everyone Wednesday I will post an article or a video of something that inspired me.
So without further ado, your weekly dose of inspiration!

We all know by now about the journalist who was purportedly beheaded by ISIS- James Foley. Of course, it’s blowing up on social media (as it should) and people who knew him are posting tearful memoirs of the great journalist. The Buzzfeed article “This is how we should remember James Foley” was really informational on his life. I had never heard of him before today. But, thankful to social media, there’s a Youtube video at the end of the article where he is being interviewed in 2011.

This interview was taken 15 days after he was released from prison in Libya for 44 days. It shows that he’s more than just a regular journalist- he wanted to reveal the truth about what was happening in the world. He’s also a very humble guy, making references to his friends and mentors instead of putting his successes on himself.

The most heartbreaking part of the video catches him saying, “It’s not worth your life, it’s not worth seeing your mother and sister bawling, and worrying about your grandmother dying because you’re in prison, it’s not worth it, no matter what romantic ideal you have, no matter what ethic you have…it’s never worth it. And I’m 37 years old, and I should have known that.”

Well, James Foley. I hope it was worth your life. He did go back to reporting, and had disappeared in 2012 in Syria. He hadn’t been heard from since then until the video was released. It is a heartbreaking matter and one that I believe we all need to think about. The only thing to do about ISIS, from my standpoint, is pray. We (civilians) can’t go over there and physically stop them. So from my political perspective, we should get the word out that we won’t stand for these kinds of abuses and pray.

I highly recommend taking the time to watch this video. It’s a little lengthy, but if you have an hour to spare it’s well worth your time. If anything, you learn more about the reporting side of the news.

Okay, that’s all my semi-political banter for today. It’s a heartbreaking story, but I choose to think of it as inspirational. We shouldn’t be afraid to stand up for what we believe in. James Foley didn’t, and he has affected the world because of it.

Leave a Reply

