It Can Wait

beach

Do you feel like summer is ending a bit too fast? In less than two weeks, I’ll be back at college. And don’t get me wrong, I’m entirely thankful for that…but am I the only one who keeps thinking of things I need to accomplish before I have to get back in the swing of real college life?

 

I keep adding more things on my to-do list, e.g. one more book to read, one more topic to learn about, one more ENTIRE SERIES to watch on Netflix. And as much as I sometimes dread having nothing to do, there are days that I wish I could have more willpower to say no to something and check more things off my to-do list instead.

 

(Did I mention I still don’t have everything I need for college yet? Yeah…please let these weeks go by more slowly!)

 

I become conflicted because I still want to enjoy the last bit of my summer, yet I want to be productive so I can look back and say, “This. This is what I did with my summer. Look at all I’ve accomplished!”

 

However, there’s a tiny voice in the back of my head that says, “That all can wait.”

 

I don’t need to do everything now. There will always be time to learn more, or read more, or organize more. But, these precious time I get to spend with my friends won’t always be there. It’s a constant struggle for me not to feel remorse when I don’t reach the goals I set for myself personally. But I know that at the end of my life, I’m going to remember these memories with my friends more than the knowledge I stuffed inside my head. Besides…knowledge is going to have to be stuffed in my head for the next three (or more!) years of college.

 

So yes. It all can wait.

beach2

 

Go out and enjoy the last bit of summer. Do something you’ve never done before. Take an unexpected break from the purely stressful realities of life and laugh. Yes, I’m enthusiastic to go back to school again, but, that feeling can wait.

One thought on “It Can Wait

  1. Don’t go out and buy too much new stuff when you can get gently used super cheap things you need at the DORM MANIA yard sale!! 🙂 But I look forward to making more memories with you and reading more of your blog.

Leave a Reply

