Patience is a Virtue

Patience is a virtue.

One that I really really really don’t have.

I don’t like waiting for things. I use the microwave more because it heats up food faster than an oven. I don’t like talking on the phone, because there’s so much etiquette and unnecessary conversational pauses that just take up too much time. In the time I spend waiting for an extraordinary amount of things, I could have accomplished a whole lot more off my to-do list.

(The ironic thing is I don’t have a problem with patience when I’m in my car. I don’t hate getting stopped by red lights, and only recently have I become slightly annoyed at “under the speed limit” drivers. I can be as patient as I need to be in a car.)

But, as soon as I’m out and about or in the zone, if you take up a little too much of my time, I get really frustrated.

I injured myself skating over a week ago. Unfortunately, it has kept me from skating, which has only served to increase my anxiety and impatience. I just want to know what’s wrong with me, so they can fix it, and I can get back to skating. I haven’t had as much to do for the last week, and I’ve grown very frustrated waiting for answers.

I know a lot of people who are frustrated waiting for answers. We all want to know about the future- where am I supposed to go to college, what job am I supposed to have, what does my boss expect me to wear today- all of these questions about the future are fueled by impatience and increase anxiety.

However, if we remember to slow down and take it one day at a time, I think it’s easier to find a little bit more patience. If we tell ourselves, “We just have to wait until tomorrow, you can wait until then,” in any problem you have, chances are you will feel a lot better and less frustrated.

Sidenote: This does not work with homework/schoolwork. If you have that, DO NOT BE PATIENT WITH IT. Get it done right now. Stop reading this and do it. Sorry.

As I’m getting older, my patience is wearing thinner. I’m about to embark on the crazy journey of mixed up beginner adulthood, and I’m going to need all the self control, patience, and anxiety reducing techniques as I can find.

Do you have a method to help you deal with being impatient? Let me know!

One thought on “Patience is a Virtue

  1. Pingback: Solitude | Sparkles & Solutions

Leave a Reply

