I Would Walk 500 Miles…

Well, no. I wouldn’t. But I would drive 500 miles, which is how many I seem to drive each week. Eep. Anyone else feel the pressure on my wallet?

But, due to all of this driving, I have accrued some good skills for my long car rides.

 

Eating in the car. A lot of my meals I do eat in my car, rather unfortunately. I haven’t managed how to eat with a fork or spoon yet, as I’m always scared the food will go EVERYWHERE if I do that, but leave me all the sandwiches, muffins, bananas, protein bars, Cheerios, etc, and I am a pro.

Singing full Broadway musicals. I love musicals. I’m not good at singing, but I love imagining I can. And in my car, with no one else around, I can definitely do that. So to whichever car that passes me (or is stuck beside me in DC traffic), my concert is for you. My favorites include Hairspray, Rent, Wicked, and Mamma Mia. Now it’s your turn to sing every part of a full length musical and tell me how it feels. It’s glorious.

Listening to only one song the entire trip. Seriously, I don’t know how I do it. That means I listen to a song an average of 35 times during my long two hour trips. But whether it’s Rhapsody in Blue or Who Loves You by Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, I’m terribly content to listen to it on repeat forever.

Rapping Fancy by Iggy Azalea. I can hit every word. Every pause. I have it on lock. And it’s all thanks to long drives. Really, they should just give me a blonde wig because I am Iggy Azalea.

Choreographing dances or skating programs in my head. This one relates to the “listening to only one song the entire trip.” I just pray I can remember them when I actually need them.

Cars are great for thinking and figuring out life goals. I would include that in my list, but these are more of the things that entertain me when I don’t die from boredom in bumper to bumper traffic. Have you learned any skills for long car rides to keep you entertained and not dead in the side of a ditch? 

Leave a Reply

