Ramblings of a Summer Mind

Life is hard. Like really hard, sometimes. And it goes by fast. I mean really, how could I have let eight days go by without a single post? Tsk, tsk. I really should get a handle on my time management skills. 

But it’s not like I haven’t been busy. However, I have had ample time for Netflix…

By any means, I apologize for my lateness. If I had anything noteworthy to blog about, I’m sure that would be a different story. But my life so far looks like this: 

  • Wake up
  • Eat
  • Skate
  • Eat
  • Nap
  • Skate
  • Eat
  • Sleep

Like I said, uneventful! If I’m not working for my dad at home, I’m skating or exercising. And that’s about it. However, between plowing through The West Wing on Netflix and reading, I’ve kept my mind occupied. 

I recently read Mindy Kaling’s “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?” and I have to say, it was fabulous. I’m not a huge fan of simple comedy- I love rom coms, but as far as comedy goes as a whole…I normally pass it. I didn’t really know much about Mindy Kaling before I read this book, but now I know a little bit more than I would have liked to (she is one hundred percent an open book!). Mindy Kaling prides herself on how she became a comedian, and she uses that term loosely. Needless to say, now I know more about comedy in television and movies, and, knowledge is power, right? 

However, I will bow my head to the book in one aspect: it gave me a great idea. In the book, Mindy mentions a fascination with Colin Firth, one I must say, I completely agree with. So now, in addition to hopefully finishing The West Wing soon, I am also going through all of Colin Firth’s movies, starting tonight with The Importance of Being Earnest. Why this feeble goal, you might ask? Well, because it’s summertime and I don’t have anything else to do when I’m lying in bed, trying to recuperate from the aches in my muscles from exercising more than I’m used to. (By the way, that ache doesn’t ever go away, or seem to get better…just for future reference, in case any of you were planning on taking up weight lifting or skiing…whatever outrageous sport fits your fancy.) 

I am now going to go back to the cinema created world of literary classics in movie form. Let’s hope I come out alive. 

 

P.S. If you have any summer book recommendations, please let me hear them. It’s not like I have a lack of books to read (just ask my mom, I have a whole trunk of them at my disposal), but I’m always interested in what other people find interesting. 

Peace, love, and Colin Firth. 

Leave a Reply

