Memorial Day

 memorial-day-2014-pictures

Happy Memorial Day! I hope your day has been filled with barbecues, family bonding, and the reminder that this day is in observance of those who gave their lives serving for our country. It truly is a proud day for America.

This is the first Memorial Day that I can remember that I haven’t been at the lake with my grandparents. Normally, my mom and I visit my grandparents at their house, cozily situated on a lake, for Memorial Day weekend. Our family friends are down there too,  and it’s always a fun day full of sun, family bonding, and relaxation.

However, this year my mom had to go on an out of town business trip with my father, and since I came back from North Carolina on Saturday, I didn’t have time to go to the grandparents’ house and neither did my mother. So for the first time in years, we’re spending Memorial Day apart.

It is sad that this tradition couldn’t be carried on without at least this year’s interruption, but it makes me realize that I won’t always be able to be places with my mom that we used to be able to do regularly.

I was sad in college when I couldn’t watch Gilmore Girls with my mom each Sunday afternoon. But it’s all a part of growing up. I guess I have to start making my own traditions now.

Spending Memorial Day alone isn’t the worst thing that can happen to a person. No, it’s not the best, but I’ve caught up on a lot of work that I’ve been neglecting. And, it’s made me that much more excited for next year when we can all be together as a family again.

 

How did you spend your Memorial Day? 

One thought on “Memorial Day

  1. Missed you, too. You could have come down to the lake to visit us without your mom! lol Maybe next year, though?

Leave a Reply

