Dream Big, But Start Small

I’m a very flippant person. It seems I change my idea of what I want to do with my life every month. I’ll get a vision of the end result, this huge monumental feat that I completed, and then I think “That’s what I want to become.” I become obsessed with this new idea, where I throw myself completely into planning to make sure that this dream happens.

But it’s always harder than I imagine it will be; roads do not easily open themselves up at my beck and call. Sometimes to make my ideas work I have to force some things my way. And after a little while, I get a new fixation and change my mind. And there starts the whole cycle over again.

I’ve realized that I’m a big dreamer. I dream about things far into the future, the end result. I fail to acknowledge how little of a task I must first complete before moving on to the next step. This is where my own shortcomings arise.

I know I’m not the only one to change my mind on what I want to do with my life. “You’ll change your major several times in college,” many adults have reiterated again and again. So my advice, for anyone who likes to be indecisive in the long run, and for myself, is to dream big, but start small. Start with a little idea, a first step. Then make another step. And when you take that step, remind yourself that you’re on the path to that bigger idea, but it won’t all happen at once.

If you’re worried about things temporally, create a time schedule. Give yourself a limit in which you will complete step one. Don’t let your mind be filled with rose colored glasses; don’t get swept away with the ideal picture. Far too often I just let my brain be filled with ‘what ifs’ and ‘if onlys’ when I should be taking action to get there.

Don’t let the desire of the end block the ability for the now.

That is all for today. Now go change your life.

 

One thought on “Dream Big, But Start Small

  1. Leigh, you could be a commencement speaker. There is your speech if you ever have to give one for graduates. See, you accomplished something without even knowing it.

Leave a Reply

