Liebster Award

So. Today has an interesting topic which, to be fair, took a long time to configure. But, my lovely friend Catty nominated me for the Liebster Award!

liebster2

The Liebster Award is an award given to new bloggers who have a small amount of viewers. Other bloggers nominate blogs which they feel have potential and the nominees have to answer their questions. So what follows is my attempt to answer Catty’s questions to the best of my ability:

1. What blog or blogger inspired you to start blogging?

The College Prepster really was my inspiration for blogging…once I realized companies could send me products to blog about for free, I was hooked! (JK… mostly…) But in all seriousness, whenever I would get angry or upset, I would write out my thoughts..and they ended up being really depressing, but I figured that if I put a lesson or advice at the end, other people might want to read them. Then, once I realized that that stuff does exist on the interweb…Sparkles & Solutions was born.

2. What is it about blogging that keeps you going, what keeps you blogging?

I want to be an acclaimed writer one day (I already consider myself a writer), and I know that the best way to get recognized for your writing is to keep doing it. So this blog inspires me to continue writing, even when I have no inspiration.

3. What would song would you consider your theme song?

That’s Life by Frank Sinatra. It talks about the ups and downs of life and that it’s important to just keep going; the difficulty of life will never change. I think that’s one of the most important things to keep in mind daily…that no, things will probably never be easy, but you should always keep going.

4. What would you say your all time favorite post is?

This question confuses me…. My favorite post by another blogger is by Maxie, from ilo inspired. Get Some Space  really inspired me to take some time, step back, and breathe. People always told me to do that before, but I just kind of shook it off, said “Okay, maybe later.” But Maxie managed to put it in terms that I could understand- via a flipchart and some Sharpies. Next time I’m in need of a refocus on my life? I’m going straight to Office Max to get me a flip chart.

5. Lipstick or Lip-gloss?

Lipstick…or lip pencil. More specifically NARS matte lip pencil in Never Say Never.

6. Writing or sharing a story with pictures?

Writing. Every. Single. Time.

7. What book has inspired you the most and why?

I don’t know if a certain book inspired me…but a certain person who talks about books did (isn’t that the same thing?) My high school English teacher, Mr. Bolt, made us read a lot of plays my senior year of high school….out loud. One that stood out to me in particular was Our Town, by Thornton Wilder. This play focuses on the stereotypical life of a small town in America during the 1930s. I don’t know why, but this play’s theme hit me hard. The famous line from Act III, “Does anyone ever realize life when they life it…every every minute?” added to my discomfort of leaving high school and starting a “new life”. I could write a whole blog post on this quote (and I might!), but the fact is that Mr. Bolt’s profound words on this subject inspired me to think, which in turn, inspired me to write. So, here’s to you, Mr. Bolt.

8. Do diary or no diary?

Does a line a day journal count? I think this blog acts as my diary…no, I don’t write about personal things, but the overall topics I write about are important to me, so that’s what I want to remember at this time in my life.

9. What would you consider your biggest weakness and why?

My biggest weakness (as I learned last night) would be worshipping ambition. I’m a competitive person, I love to win, and I love to be better than others at anything and everything I do. But sometimes I get a little obsessed with it, to the point where I drive myself crazy if I fail at anything. I wish I wasn’t so concerned about being successful, but I am. It can decompress me, make me unstrung, and cry a lot. I’m working on this, but changing a weakness into a strength is difficult and takes time. There are way better things to focus on.

10. What is your passion?

I don’t think I can say what my one passion is…I have lots of different passions about everything. I love figure skating, dancing, writing, reading, imagining..these are all things I would love to have as a career. So my passion must be being passionate. I’m sure that’s not the grammatically correct way to say it, but you’ll live with it.

11. Where do you see yourself in 15 years?

Gosh…I have a hard time seeing myself somewhere in 5 years! But in 15 years, I’ll be 34…I hope to be married and running my empire from a fabulously decorated office and self designed clothes. (not. kidding.)

 

I think this is a really neat concept for an award, and I hope that each and every one of you nominees will do this post!

My nominations hereby are as follows:

Miz Riz at Beauty and the Beach

Sydney Jean at Making Happiness Happen

Anne at Words of Anneworth

Sara at Sara Writes

Martin at Martinis with Martin

The Passion of the Grice

Anne at Anne Squared

Southern Charmed

Sperrys and Stripes

Mollie at Momconformist

Jon at A Different Worldview

 

Now, my nominees, you must answer these 11 questions:

1. If you could only write about one thing in the world, what would it be?
2. What was the  first blog you read and why?
3. Favorite go-to outfit?
4. Favorite cartoon character?
5. Would you rather be stranded in the tundra or on a desert island?
6. Appetizers or dessert?
7. What is your favorite thing to do for fun?
8. What is the most important thing in the world to you right now?
9. What are you most afraid of?
10. Who is your inspiration?
11. Where do you wish to be buried?

Now it’s your turn! Those nominated, I wish you all the best in all your future writing endeavors.

P.S. I hope this wasn’t too difficult of a post to get through! I know it was tedious, but it’s over now!

One thought on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

