You Can’t Always Get What You Want

I know this saying all too well. I am continually the dreamer of far off dreams even Disney princesses couldn’t think of them. I always want what is seemingly unattainable. And I refuse to give up on it…until a new dream or plan comes in to my head and takes possession of me again. A harmful cycle, I know, one full of distraction and a false sense of destiny..which may be a weird mix of words, but in my case it means that once I have my mind fixed on something I completely believe that that is what I was put on this earth to do. Until something else changes my mind again. So…a false sense of destiny with anything that I am passionate about makes me a very flighty person to be around.

This is a hard concept to grasp, and one that I’m slowly learning about myself, luckily so early in this stage of my life. Hopefully I can catch myself being this fickle and stop it. Hopefully.

But, as I’ve done this the past two years, I have learned the motto of many parents who refuse to give their children a pony, or a toy, or of college admissions officers who will not admit you into their prestigious university no matter how hard you beg:

You can’t always get what you want.

The Rolling Stones had it right…maybe you will get what you need instead. It’s a hard feeling that that one thing you had your heart set on will not happen. Reality kicks in, it no longer feels like you were frantically grasping to keep the sand from running out of your hands, but instead that huge boulder has just crushed you. There’s a strange aura of calm around you, mixed with shock, frustration, disappointment in yourself, and hopelessness. Then time passes, and you understand more (hindsight is 20/20), but it still sucks, doesn’t it?

I wish I could be a prima ballerina. I wish I could be the Queen of France or the President. I wish I could move to Africa and save orphans my whole life. But I know these things are unrealistic and ultimately have a .00001% of happening. But I also know that there is someone (or something) out there that is keeping me from becoming those things for a certain reason.

And I know that I have to trust that person a lot more than I trust myself for that very fact.

The ultimate point of this post?

We aren’t in control, no matter how much we want to think we are. We can’t always get what we want, and it’s no one in particular’s fault if we can’t, it just wasn’t meant to be. And accepting that is a way to make ourselves much happier individuals.

 

“But if you try sometimes, you just might find…you get what you need.”

Leave a Reply

