The 2013 Post

I’ve been struggling to come up with something reflective to say about 2013. In all honesty, this has been the most difficult year of my life. I’ve had to face personal issues, academic issues, monolithic feeling life choices that could potentially change my destiny. But I also have learned and enjoyed more of this entire year than I have throughout my life. In 2013, I got into college. In 2013, I graduated high school. In 2013, I joined a sorority. In 2013, I got my first job. In 2013, I started this blog. The list goes on and on. The amount of things I’ve accomplished this year have been life changing, even though I attribute this year to be the hardest year so far.

Even though my list of accomplishments feels heavy, I didn’t finish every task I started. There are still things that I would like to have done, and things that I still plan on completing. These things that I want to do can still be done. There is still time. Even though I didn’t get to them in 2013 doesn’t mean that I will never do them. Reflection drives motivation. I stand by this phrase. Reflection shows you what you did and empowers you to do more. You saw that you could do this certain job, so who can tell you that you can’t do the next? If you learn anything from reflecting (as it is the end of the year), do not focus on what you did wrong, but focus on what you are going to do right. 

What I’m realizing is that as you grow older, life does get harder. Each passing year will seem, to quote a friend, “like a never ending ride on the struggle bus.” And that’s because we are learning. We are adapting. If life got simpler, we wouldn’t be enjoying it. And who doesn’t want to get more out of life?

So return those lemons to life; nobody gives you anything. You work for it yourself. And be darn proud of it.

And here, friends, is my all-encompassing, year of 2013, self proclaimed reflective thought:

Let life be hard. Relish in the fact that it is, and agree to never let it keep you down.

  (For longer than it takes to finish a pint of Ben & Jerry’s, that is.)

 

Happy New Year! 

What is your one sentence 2013 reflective thought? 

Leave a Reply

