A Cinematic Review

I recently watched Third Star, starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Hugh Bonneville. Third Star (check it out Here) is a snapshot of a man who has terminal cancer and tells the journey that he and his three friends take by traveling to a bay in the middle of nowhere (just to make him happy). I didn’t know anything about this film before I watched it; to be truthful, I just picked it out because it has Benedict Cumberbatch. But this film was much more important than that. It took a little time for me to get into it, but by the time I did, I was already so emotionally invested in this group’s journey that I could not stop watching (even when I really wanted to).

(Don’t worry, no spoilers here.)

This film made me refeel all of the TFIOS feels. (And if you don’t know what TFIOS is, you should definitely buy the book and read it (buy it here!) and then you should go see the movie in June, starring Shailene Woodley and Ansel Egort.)

I cried actual tears while watching this film. It was filmed like a documentary (the boys had a camera with them the whole time so they were actually filming it along the way). The camera movements were choppy at times, grainy, swift, and sometimes difficult to see what was actually happening, but all of those things just made the acting more real. 

The acting skill of the actors was tremendous. Not at any point did it feel fake or forced. The entire feel of the movie was sort of surreal, in a real-I-can’t-believe-this-is-happening-to-me and very depressing way. 

 

Needless to say, this isn’t a first date kind of movie.

 

If I were an internationally acclaimed film critic, I would give it 3.5 stars out of 5. No, make it 4 stars. I thought it was really good, but I don’t want to watch it again because of how terribly upsetting it is. I mean, the film was about a man with cancer. And he’s dying. How much more emotionally jarring could a film be? But still. Check it out and rethink your life choices.

 

Leave a Reply

