5 Things Every Pre-Twenty-Something Should Know

If you’re anything like me (an obsessor of blogs and professional development companies), then you’re probably getting bombarded with the endless number of “Things Every 20-Something Should Know” articles.  While these tenants of truth are important for many 20-somethings out there, it makes me wonder, “Why am I reading this?”

If you’re anything like me (aka just starting out in college), then your 18-19 year old mind should not have to worry about things you should already know or be on the lookout for during the so-called most important decade of your life. While most of the authors I read consist of women just now turning 30, already on their own, and not quite sure what to do about getting older, I’m here waiting to grow old. I still live in a college dorm, I am supported by my parents, I still eat EasyMac for dinner.

This is all fine.

But, because those articles are really important and will be relevant one day, for a woman on the verge of entering the most important time in her life, here are some things to know ahead of the game.
Things Every Person Entering Their 20s Should Know

    1. Don’t worry about taking a class or doing a club that isn’t related to your major. You’ll have more fun with it, and employers like to see that you are passionate about more than one thing.
    1. Appreciate the people around you. These are your contemporaries, and even though they may not be your best friends, you might run into them one day in a big city where you don’t have many friends and they may end up being your lifesaver.
    1. Allow your dreams to change. Right now, you may have a plan for your life. (I know I have 1 year, 5 year, and 10 year lists of things I want to accomplish by then.) However. If at any point you step back, introspect for a little bit and say, “Hey. I hate my life. I don’t want to do this anymore.” then allow yourself to change. There will be ups and downs and mountains to climb and people who will stand in your way, but at the end, you will find where you were supposed to be. So it’s okay to change your mind.
    1. While you can change your mind about what you want to be, make sure you have a firm grasp on your morals. My orientation aide told us that every once in a while, it’s time to reevaluate your morals. Maybe they have changed and you now are okay with doing something you previously weren’t okay with before. That’s fine too. But never let anyone uproot you from your sense of moral ground.
    1. Never settle for less. Whether that means settling for a worse grade on a test because you’re tired of studying, a brainless, worthless, boy who won’t get anywhere or do anything for you, or a dream that isn’t really what you want to do but seems to be the “easiest solution”…Don’t do it.

 

I’m 19 years old. Not really sure what I’m going to do with my life. But I’m not going to waste a minute of my future now.

I relish reading all of the 20-something articles because one day, that will be me. I will be 30 years old one day, and I hope to God that I will be as accomplished as I am in my dreams now.

 

And I hope you feel the same.

 

Leave a Reply

